EBSS Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award

About the EBSS Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award This award honors a distinguished academic librarian who has made an outstanding contribution as an education and/or behavioral sciences librarian through accomplishments and service to the profession.

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries logoEducation and Behavioral Sciences Section logo

2017 Winner(s)

Deborah Schaeffer

Instruction and Reference Librarian and Liaison Librarian to the School of Social Work (retired), California State University-Los Angeles

“The committee was impressed by Schaeffer’s history and dedication to service to EBSS, her close and generous mentoring of colleagues in the section, and her conscientious support of students at California State University-Los Angeles,” said award chair Stephanie Davis-Kahl, scholarly communications librarian at Illinois Wesleyan University. “In her nomination letter, Scott Collard noted, ‘I know from first-hand experience that Deb always has time for her colleagues, and she’s constantly looking to cultivate new leaders in a time of ACRL transition, looking to bring new folks into the fold, and looking to make a welcoming professional home for those around her.’ Deborah Schaeffer is deserving of this honor, and EBSS thanks her for her service.”

Schaeffer’s numerous service accomplishments in ACRL/EBSS include serving as chair of EBSS, as a member and chair of a variety of EBSS committees, and as an ACRL Dr. E. J. Josey Spectrum Scholar Mentor.