Stonewall Book Awards

About the Stonewall Book Awards The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award and the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award are presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

Administered by:

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Round Table logo

Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award

2019 Winner(s)

Go the Way Your Blood Beats: On Truth, Bisexuality and Desire

by Michael Amherst (Repeater)

2019 Honor(s)

Black. Queer. Southern. Women.: An Oral History
by E. Patrick Johnson (The University of North Carolina Press)

Raising Rosie: Our Story of Parenting an Intersex Child
by Eric and Stephani Lohman (Jessica Kingsley Publishers)

Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation
by Robert W. Fieseler (Liveright)

The World Only Spins Forward: The Ascent of Angels in America
by Isaac Butler and Dan Kois (Bloomsbury USA)

Barbara Gittings Literature Award

2019 Winner(s)

The Great Believers

by Rebecca Makkai (Viking, an imprint of Penguin Random House)

2019 Honor(s)

by Lisa Maas (Arsenal Pulp Press)

Luisa: Now and Then
by Carole Maurel, adapted by Mariko Tamaki, translated from French by Nanette McGuinness (Life Drawn, an imprint of Humanoids)

Speak No Evil
by Uzodinma Iweala (Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins)

White Houses
by Amy Bloom (Random House, an imprint of Penguin Random House)