Joseph W. Lippincott Award

About the Joseph W. Lippincott Award
An annual award consisting of $1,500 and a 24k gold-framed citation presented annually to a librarian for distinguished service to the profession of librarianship, such service to include outstanding participation in the activities of the professional library association, notable published professional writing, or other significant activity on behalf of the profession and its aims.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

2017 Winner(s)

Barbara K. Stripling

Senior Associate Dean at the Syracuse University School of Information Studies

Among Dr. Stripling’s achievements specially noted by the jury, and the many colleagues who wrote in support of this award, was her role as a prodigious scholar, advocate, and educator. In the arc of a long and distinguished career she has served as ALA President, President of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), and currently serves as President of the New York Library Association (NYLA).

Dr. Stripling’s extraordinary impact as a preeminent scholar in our profession is validated by her extensive list of published articles and books. Most notably, she is the author of the Stripling Model of Inquiry which provides a blueprint for active learning and critical thinking that has helped focus schools nationwide on building a curriculum foundation based on intellectual inquiry.

Dr. Stripling has served on numerous national and local committees and task forces working as a tireless advocate for school libraries, literacy and intellectual freedom.