Coretta Scott King Book Awards

About the Coretta Scott King Book Awards
Designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace, the Coretta Scott King Book Awards annually recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience.  Further, the Award encourages the artistic expression of the black experience via literature and the graphic arts in biographical, social, and historical treatments by African American authors and illustrators.

Administered by:

Ethnic and Multicultural  Information Exchange Rd Table logo

Author Award

2019 Winner(s)

A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919

written by Claire Hartfield, is the King Author Book winner. The book is published by Clarion Books, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

2019 Honor(s)

Finding Langston
written by Lesa Cline-Ransome and published by Holiday House

The Parker Inheritance
written by Varian Johnson and published by Arthur A. Levine Books, an imprint of Scholastic Inc.

The Season of Styx Malone
written by Kekla Magoon and published by Wendy Lamb Books, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Random House LLC

Illustrator Award

2019 Winner(s)

The Stuff of Stars

illustrated by Ekua Holmes, written by Marion Dane Bauer and published by Candlewick Press

2019 Honor(s)

Hidden Figures
illustrated by Laura Freeman, written by Margot Lee Shetterly and published by HarperCollins Children’s Books, a division of HarperCollins Publishers

Let the Children March
illustrated by Frank Morrison, written by Monica Clark-Robinson and published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company

Memphis, Martin, and the Mountaintop
illustrated by R. Gregory Christie, written by Alice Faye Duncan and published by Calkins Creek, an imprint of Highlights