Charlie Robinson Award

About the Charlie Robinson Award
The Charlie Robinson Award honors a public library director who, over a period of seven years, has been a risk taker, an innovator and/or a change agent in a public library. The recipient should have been active in national and other professional associations and be known for developing and implementing programs which are responsive to the need of community residents.

Administered by:

Public Library Association logo

Award and Frequency

An annual award that consists of $1,000 and a gift to the librarian, who is then honored at the ALA Annual Conference.
This award is given out on an annual basis.


Members of the current Charlie Robinson Award Jury are ineligible to receive the Charlie Robinson Award.

Application Instructions


To submit a nomination for this award, please visit the PLA Awards Online Application.

PLA will forward the nominations to the current chair of the Charlie Robinson Award Jury. PLA reserves the right to extend the application deadline.

Contact Information

Megan Stewart (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021) -
Work Phone: (312) 280-5026
American Library Association
225 N. Michigan Ave., Ste. 1300
Chicago, IL 60601

Displaying active committee roster as of 11/25/2020. Last retrieved on 11/25/2020. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.