Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award

About the Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award This annual award recognizes an academic or law librarian who, through research, service to the profession, or other creative activity, makes distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science. This award honors Marta Lange, 1990-91 Law and Political Science Section (LPSS) Chair, whose exceptional talents as a leader were enhanced by a wonderful collegial spirit. Her bright career, cut short in a fatal automobile accident in 1992, was an inspiration to others and a model of professional service.

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries logo

2017 Winner(s)

Julie Leuzinger

Associate Librarian and Head of Library Learning Services, University of North Texas

“The committee selected Leuzinger because of her outstanding record of public service and civic engagement,” said award chair Bryan M. Carson, professor and coordinator of research instruction, grants, and assessment at Western Kentucky University. “As a profession, librarians have always been connected to the community. What really stood out in her application is the outstanding way she fused her professional knowledge and skills with service to the community. Julie’s work is the embodiment of a professional in the mold of Marta Lange. Her record of outreach is something that we should all strive to attain.”

“Leuzinger has an impressive array of publications, presentations, and professional service dealing with reference services and legal issues, and has been recognized for her work with the Denton League of Women Voters, serving as the vice president of community relations, a deputized voter registrar, and helping to create the local Voter’s Guide,” continued Carson. “She has also been active in numerous other professional associations, including the American Political Science Association, the Texas Library Association, the American Association of Law Libraries, and the Southwestern Association of Law Librarians.”