Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award

About the Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award This annual award recognizes an academic or law librarian who, through research, service to the profession, or other creative activity, makes distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science. This award honors Marta Lange, 1990-91 Law and Political Science Sections (LPSS) Chair, whose exceptional talents as a leader were enhanced by a wonderful collegial spirit. Her bright career, cut short in a fatal automobile accident in 1992, was an inspiration to others and a model of professional service.

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries logo

Award and Frequency

$1,000 cash and a plaque donated by CQ Press
This award is given out on an annual basis.


No restriction on who may apply.

Application Instructions

Electronic submissions are required. Nominations should be submitted with the name and contact information of the nominee as well as a narrative supporting the nomination. The narrative must speak to the impact of the nominee’s work on librarianship in law/political science through the areas of distinction. The committee will contact the nominee’s supervisor for more detailed information and a CV, which will be considered along with the nominator’s narrative.

If possible, please submit a high resolution photo of the nominee (at least 300 dpi). The photo will be used to make the official winner announcement immediately after the ALA Midwinter Meeting.

Individuals may nominate themselves or others.​

Individuals may nominate themselves or others. E-mail the nomination documentation to the award committee chair, Mary Kathryn Oberlies, George Mason University, (703) 993-8267, E-mail: For additional information, contact the award chair or Chase Ollis at

Contact Information

Dr. Bryan Mark Carson (Chair, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2018)
Chase Ollis (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017) -
American Library Association
50 E Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611-2788

Displaying active committee roster as of 04/23/2017. Last retrieved on 04/23/2017. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

Nominees should have achieved distinction in one or more of the following areas:

  • Planning and implementation of a model bibliography/information services program in a law or political science library
  • History of contributions to the field through research, publications and other activities displaying active participation in the advancement of law/political science librarianship
  • Service to the profession through ACRL or related regional and national organizations
  • Promotion or development of an education program for law and political science librarianship that has served as a model for other courses and programs