Best of LRTS Award

About the Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award
The Best of LRTS Award is given to the author(s) of the best paper published each year in the official journal of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services, Library Resources & Technical Services.

Administered by:

Association for Library Collections and Technical Svcs logo

2009 Co-Winner(s)

Approaches to Selection, Access, and Collection Development in the Web World

Karen Schmidt, Wendy Allen Shelburne, David Steven Vess Library Resources & Technical Services vol. 52, no. 3, pp. 184-191, July 2008
In their award winning article, Schmidt, Shelburne, and Vess present a case study on how collection development skills can be used to acquire, preserve, and provide access to web-based materials that complement traditional collections acquired by major libraries. The article provides insight into creating and maintaining archives of materials produced outside the publishing mainstream complementing traditional library collections. The authors urge librarians to adopt new approaches to collection development and insure the preservation of new types of information for the benefit of future researchers.