Best of LRTS Award

About the Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award
The Best of LRTS Award is given to the author(s) of the best paper published each year in the official journal of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services, Library Resources & Technical Services.

Administered by:

Association for Library Collections and Technical Svcs logo

2007 Co-Winner(s)

Perpetual Access to Electronic Journals: A Survey of One Academic Research Library's Licenses

Jim Stemper and Susan Barribeau <p>LRTS, vol. 50, no.2, April 2006, pp. 91-109</p>
Jim Stemper and Susan Barribeau explore current license agreement practices and highlight procedural concerns that will be influencing budgets and collections in academic libraries for the foreseeable future. Their thoughtful analysis of license agreements offers libraries practical recommendations to consider when making collection decisions about purchased electronic resources and perpetual access. The authors identify and explain the head-spinning particulars of dealing with electronic journals in a clear, understandable and logical fashion.