Innovation in College Librarianship Award

About the Innovation in College Librarianship Award To recognize innovation in college librarianship. 

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries logoCollege Libraries Section logo

2015 Winner(s)

Melinda Beland, Angie Cox, Melissa Gevaert, Anna Hollingsworth and Linda McLaury

All members of the Comic Con Committee at the University of Northern Iowa’s Rod Library

The Rod Library RodCon brought faculty, staff and community members into the library for a day of programs and events, including lectures covering a variety of disciplines from Gender Studies to Communication, inspired by the growing role of graphic novels in the curriculum. Students also presented, with a number of student groups involved in the costume contest and other events.

“We liked the draw of people to the library as a new way to engage students and faculty with one another and others in the community,” said award chair Amy E. Badertscher, director of library services at Kenyon College. “The event costs, including speakers and materials, came in under $2,000. Therefore, the committee thought the ideas would be easy to create on other campuses.”