e-Learning Scholarships

About the e-Learning Scholarships To provide opportunities for librarians, library school students or support staff to update their skills and knowledge by participating in an ACRL e-Learning webcast. 

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries logo

Award and Frequency

Twenty scholarships will be awarded.  Each scholarship covers the cost of the ACRL e-Learning webcast registration fee.

This award is given out on an annual basis.


Scholarship applicants must:

  • be ACRL members
  • complete the online application form
  • submit a brief written statement (300 words) that describes how participation in an ACRL e-learning webcast meets your professional needs and goals.

Application Instructions

Applications must be submitted via the online application form.  NOTE: Only electronic submissions will be considered.  The form does not allow submissions to be saved and resumed. Prepare your answers and have your statement of support before starting the online application.  Please double-check all your answers before pushing the ‘submit’ button.

Please contact mconahan@ala.org with questions.

Contact Information

Margot Conahan (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019) - mconahan@ala.org
Work Phone: (312) 280-2522
American Library Association
50 E Huron St
Chicago, IL 60611-2788

Displaying active committee roster as of 09/22/2018. Last retrieved on 09/22/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

The ACRL Professional Development Coordinating Committee will review and select scholarship applicants based on their application and response to the written statement.  The committee will strive to achieve both diversity and balance among scholarship recipients and preference will be given to individuals who have not previously been awarded an ACRL scholarship. Individuals may only receive one ACRL scholarship per professional development event.


Notifications will be issued by late November 2009.  Scholarships can be redeemed for ACRL e-learning webcasts offered between December 15, 2009 – August 31, 2010.