Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award

About the Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award This annual award recognizes an outstanding publication related to instruction in a library environment published in the preceding two years. The award honors Ilene F. Rockman's professional contributions to academic librarianship in the area of information literacy. This award is administered by the Instruction Section.

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries logoInstruction Section logo

Award and Frequency

This award is given out on an annual basis.


Publications include journal articles, books, book chapters, and published proceedings. Submitted publications may be authored by one or more individuals, a group, organization, or committee. Instruction Section publications are not eligible for award consideration. Publications from 2013 and 2014 can be considered for the 2015 award.

Application Instructions

Electronic submissions are required. Nominations must include a letter supporting the publication and a complete citation of the publication. Whenever possible, an electronic version of the article, book, etc., should also be included.

Send nominations to the IS Awards Committee Chair, Susanna Maria Eng-Ziskin, California State University-Northridge, T: (818) 677-4679, E-mail:

Submission Deadline: December 5, 2014

Contact Information

Susanna Eng-Ziskin (Chair, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015)
Chase Ollis (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015) -
American Library Association
50 E Huron St
Chicago, IL 60611-2788

Displaying active committee roster as of 03/31/2015. Last retrieved on 03/31/2015. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

Publications are judged on the basis of relevance to the field of instruction in academic or research libraries, originality, timeliness, and quality of writing.