Mildred L. Batchelder Award

About the Mildred L. Batchelder Award
This award, established in Mildred L. Batchelder's honor in 1966, is a citation awarded to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

2011 Winner(s)

Delacorte Press, and imprint of Random House Children's Books, a division of Random House, Inc.

for "A Time of Miracles", originally published in French in 2009 as "Le Temps des Miracles," the book was written by Anne-Laure Bondoux, translated by Y. Maudet.

2011 Honor(s)

Atheneum Books for Young Readers

for "Nothing," written by Janne Teller and translated by Martin Aitken


for "Departure Time," written by Truus Matti and translated by Nancy Forest-Flier