Mildred L. Batchelder Award

About the Mildred L. Batchelder Award
This award, established in Mildred L. Batchelder's honor in 1966, is a citation awarded to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

2010 Winner(s)

Delacorte Press, and imprint of Random House Children's Books

"A Faraway Island," written by Annika Thor and translated by Linda Schenck

Originally published in Swedish in 1996, “A Faraway Island” tells the story of two Jewish sisters from Vienna, Austria, 12 year old Stephie and her younger sister Nellie, who are sent by their parents to Sweden to escape the Nazis. Nellie adapts easily, but Stephie faces painful challenges. This engaging novel explores the importance of family, friendship and personal growth.

2010 Honor(s)

Arthur A. Levine Books, an Imprint of Scholastic, Inc.

"Moribito II: Guardian of the Darkness," written by Nahoko Uehashi, illustrated by Yuko Shimizu and translated by Cathy Hirano

Enchanted Lion Books

for "Big Wolf and Little Wolf," written by Nadine Brun-Cosme, illustrated by Olivier Tallec, translated by Claudia Bedrick

Farrar Straus Giroux

"Eidi," written by Bodil Bredsdorff, and translated by Kathryn Mahaffy