ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant

About the ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant The ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant is given to school library associations that are AASL affiliates for planning and implementing leadership programs at the state, regional, or local levels.Possibilities include programs that:
  • Involve new members;
  • Train on-going leaders;
  • Prepare school librarians to be building or district level leaders;
  • Encourage collaboration among organizations.
New ideas and approaches to leadership are encouraged.

Established in 1986.

Administered by:

American Association of School Libraries logo

Award and Frequency

An annual grant of up to $1,750.
This award is given out on an annual basis.


Applicant must be a current member of the AASL Affiliate Assembly.

Applicant Responsibility

The recipient organization is responsible for providing a final written report, which will include an itemized statement of expenses, an evaluation of the results, and suggestions for improvement. The organization is also responsible for presenting a brief oral report at the Affiliate Assembly meeting during the ALA Midwinter Meeting following the completion of the project.

Application Instructions

See the AASL website to apply.

Contact Information

Allison K. Cline (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016) -
Work Phone: (312) 280-4385
American Library AssociationAmerican Association of School Librarians
50 E Huron St
Chicago, IL 60611-2729

Displaying active committee roster as of 11/29/2015. Last retrieved on 11/29/2015. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

All applications for the grant will be judged against the following criteria:

  1. Program objectives are clear
  2. Nature and importance of desired leadership qualities are specified
  3. Intended participant group is well defined
  4. Plan of action and calendar are included
  5. Budget is well planned
  6. Evaluation plan is valid and follow-up activities are appropriate
  7. Program has merit for replication by other affiliates


Winners are announced in the spring.