Eliza Atkins Gleason Book Award

About the Eliza Atkins Gleason Book Award
The Eliza Atkins Gleason Book Award is presented by the Library History Round Table of the American Library Association every third year to recognize the best book written in English in the field of library history, including the history of libraries, librarianship, and book culture. It will next be awarded in January of 2010.

Administered by:

Library History Round Table logo

2004 Winner(s)

Louise Robbins

The first ever Eliza Atkins Gleason Book Award was awarded to Louise Robbins for The Dismissal of Miss Ruth Brown: Civil Rights, Censorship, and the American Library (Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2000) The award bears the name of Eliza Atkins Gleason, the first African American to receive a Ph.D. from the Graduate Library School of the University of Chicago.  Dr. Gleason was present at the conference, and award ceremony, as guest of honor with her daughter, Dr. Joy Gleason Carew.