Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

About the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
The award, a bronze medal, honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

2009 Winner(s)

Ashley Bryan

His numerous works include “Dancing Granny,” “Beat the Story-Drum, Pum-Pum,” and “Beautiful Blackbird.”

Born in 1923 in New York City, Bryan has been painting since childhood. His education, interrupted by Army service in World War II, includes a degree from Columbia University. A painter, reteller, illustrator of children’s books and Professor Emeritus at Dartmouth College, Bryan lives and works on Little Cranberry Island in Maine. 

Ashley Bryan’s award-winning works include “Walk Together Children,” an ALA Notable Book in 1974 and “Beautiful Blackbird,” Coretta Scott King Book Award Winner in 2004.  In addition Bryan has received one other Coretta Scott King Book Award, plus six honors. He has also received the 1990 Arbuthnot Award, the 1993 Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Award, the 2006 Hans Christian Andersen United States Nomination for illustration, the Silver Medallion for Contributions to Children’s Literature and the Virginia Hamilton Literary Award.