Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

About the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
The award, a bronze medal, honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

2007 Winner(s)

James Marshall

"Marshall conveyed a world of emotion with the placement of a dot or the wrinkle of a line," said Wilder Award Committee Chair Roger Sutton.  "In both his drawings and impeccably succinct texts, he displayed a comic genius infused with wit and kindness."

Born in San Antonio in 1942, Marshall was a self-taught artist.  After an injury cut short his pursuit of a career in music playing the viola, he found his life's work in children's books.  His first book was Plink, Plink, Plink, written by Byrd Baylor and published by Houghton in 1971.

Drawing from a career that spanned just over 20 years, dozens of Marshall's books remain favorites with audiences ranging from young children to college students and adults.  The enduring friendship of George and Martha, the wily grace of Fox, the irresponsible resilience of the Stanly Q. Stupid family and the benevolent dictatorship of Miss Nelson (aka Viola Swamp) are testimonials to human nature in all its complexity.