Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

About the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
The award, a bronze medal, honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

1998 Winner(s)

Russell Freedman

Freedman was cited for his body of work, which includes the 1988 John Newbery Medal Award winner Lincoln: A Photobiography, published by Clarion Books.  Two of this other titles were named Newbery Honor books: The Wright Brothers: How They Invented the Airplane, published in 1991 by Holiday House, and Eleanor Roosevelt: A Life of Discovery, published in 1993 by Clarion Books.

The committee also cited Freedman's treatment of American history in his Holiday House titles Indian Chiefs, Buffalo Hunt, and The Life and Death of Crazy Horse.