Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

About the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
The award, a bronze medal, honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

1995 Winner(s)

Virginia Hamilton

According to Letitia Wilson, chair of the Wilder Selection Committee, "Hamilton draws on the specifics of her own African-American and American Indian heritage to illuminate the universals of human experience.  Her shaping of multilayered, often complex, narratives is highlighted by the invention of language and the incorporation of history, legend, and culture.  Creating consistently excellent works of fiction, folklore, and biography, Hamilton has produced a body of works unparalleled in its breadth and depth."

Hamilton has received numerous national and international awards for her work, including the Hans Christian Anderson Award (1992), the Regina Medal (1990) and several Coretta Scott King, John Newbery, and Boston Globe Hornbook honors and awards.