Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

About the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
The award, a bronze medal, honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

1992 Winner(s)

Marcia Brown

Brown is cited for three books: Once a Mouse (1962), Cinderella (1955), and Shadow (1983), all published by Scribner's and edited by Clare Costello.  She won Caldecott Medals for all three, and Once a Mouse also received the Lewis Carroll Shelf Award. 

"Marcia Brown's art style responds to the mood of each of her books: gossamer pastels adorn Cinderella, forest-tinted woodcuts were chosen for Once a Mouse, and cut-paper figures against deep violet-blue shadows create the images in Shadow," said Henrietta M. Smith, Wilder Award Committee Chair.