Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal

About the Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal
The Sibert Award honors the most distinguished informational book published in English in the preceding year for its significant contribution to children’s literature.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

2010 Winner(s)

Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream

written by Tanya Lee Stone, and published by Candlewick Press

Women in space—not a big deal now, but it took over 20 years for NASA to recognize that women have the Right Stuff . “Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream,” tells the story of the women aviators and aspiring astronauts known as the “Mercury 13” who, in the early 1960’s repeatedly proved themselves capable but could not overcome prevailing prejudices. Meticulously researched and handsomely illustrated with archival materials, Stone’s insightful, passionately written chronicle is sure to inspire.

2010 Honor(s)

Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice

written by Phillip Hoose, and published by Melanie Kroupa Books/Farrar Straus Giroux, an imprint of Macmillan Children's Publishing Group

The Day-Glo Brothers: The True Story of Bob and Joe Switzer's Bright Ideas and Brand-New Colors

written by Chris Barton, illustrated by Tony Persiani, and published by Charlesbridge

Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11

written and illustrated by Brian Floca, and published by Richard Jackson/Atheneum Books for Young Readers