W.Y. Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in Military Fiction

About the W.Y. Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in Military Fiction
This award honors the best fiction set in a period when the United States was at war. It recognizes the service of American veterans and military personnel and encourages the writing and publishing of outstanding war-related fiction. Donated by William Young Boyd II.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

2001 Winner(s)

Dog Company Six

Brigadier General Edwin Howard Simmons (Naval Institute Press).

The author captures the reality of this brutal war and portrays the depths that men in combat can rise to or fall as they faced overwhelming enemy forces and severe weather conditions. The combat scenes are full of realism. It works as a story of the Korean War and the U.S. Marine Corps, but also as a probe into the deepest reaches of the human condition. What causes people to react so differently in combat? It’s the question that has haunted exchanges of gunfire between armies since the beginning of time. General Simmons writes so well about it because he writes from his own experiences.