Esther J. Piercy Award

About the Esther J. Piercy Award
The Esther J. Piercy Award was established by the Resources and Technical Services Division of the American Library Association in 1968 in memory of Esther J. Piercy, editor of Journal of Cataloging and Classification from 1950 to 1956 and of Library Resources & Technical Services from 1957 to 1967.

Administered by:

Association for Library Collections and Technical Svcs logo

Award and Frequency

Annual $1,500 award and a citation
This award is given out on an annual basis.


Nominee must have less than 10 years professional experience and be an ALCTS member.

Application Instructions

 Nominations shall include:

  • name of nominee;
  • date nominee entered first professional position; and
  • a formal statement of nomination, with a brief rationale for the nomination;
  • a resume or narrative career outline upon which the award jury can base its determinations;
  • letters of endorsement from others should provide additional evidence of the worthiness of the nominee. The number of letters of endorsement received for a nominee shall not be a determining factor in the selection process; rather, the evidence of the person's accomplishments that they present shall be the factor considered.

Nominations for persons not selected for the award in one year may be resubmitted provided the person still meets the ten-year limit on length of professional experience. Eligibility is not limited by country, citizenship, or membership in a specific organization.


Contact Information

Brooke Morris-Chott (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2022) -
Work Phone: (312) 280-5037
American Library Association
50 E Huron St
Chicago, IL 60611-2788

Displaying active committee roster as of 09/22/2018. Last retrieved on 09/22/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

Evidence of this promise is determined by the person's accomplishments, as they are related to technical services and resources, in such activities as:
Leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national level;
Contributions to the development, application or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques and routines;
Significant contribution to professional literature; and
Conduct of studies or research in the technical services.


Recipient notified by jury chair after Midwinter