LBI George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award

About the LBI George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award
The award honors the memory of George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg, early leaders in cooperative preservation programming and strong advocates for collaboration in the field of preservation.
The award acknowledges and supports cooperative preservation projects and/or rewards individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals. Recipients of the award demonstrate vision, endorse cooperation, and advocate for the preservation of published and primary source resources that capture the richness of our cultural patrimony. The award recognizes the leadership and initiative required to build collaborative networks designed to achieve specific preservation goals. Since collaboration, cooperation, advocacy and outreach are key strategies that epitomize preservation, the award promotes cooperative efforts and supports equitable preservation among all libraries, archives and historical institutions.

Administered by:

Association for Library Collections and Technical Svcs logoPreservation and Reformatting Section logo

Award and Frequency

An annual award of $1,250 and a citation
This award is given out on an annual basis.


Any person or group is eligible for this award; membership in the ALA organization is not required.
Employees of LBI are not eligible.

Application Instructions

Nominations are accepted by the award jury chair.

Nominations should include the name of the person or group being nominated; address, phone number and email address of nominee and nominating party;  a formal statement of nomination, with rationale for the nomination; resume, vita or extensive narrative career outline upon which the award jury can bae its determination;  and letters of support and endorsement.

Contact Information

Winston Atkins (Chair, July 1, 2017, to July 31, 2018)
Ms. Robin Brandt Hutchison (Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Adrienne E. Bell (Member, July 1, 2017, to July 31, 2018)
Ms. Sherry Byrne (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Ms. Jeanne M. Drewes (Member, July 1, 2017, to July 31, 2018)
Martha Horan (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Ms. Nancy E. Kraft (Member, July 1, 2017, to July 31, 2018)
Mr. Andrew Russell Mancuso (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Keri Cascio (Staff Liaison, January 15, 2015, to July 31, 2018) -
American Library Association
50 E Huron St
Chicago, IL 60611-2788

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/20/2018. Last retrieved on 07/20/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

The award jury will consider:
a project emphasizing collaboration or partnership
collaboration extending the preservation vision beyond the circle of preservation specialists and foster action to raise awareness and set priorities, projects, and programs into motion
nomination of an individual or group for cumulative achievement as a mentor or advocate of collaborative preservation.


The recipient will be notified by the jury chair just before the ALA Midwinter Meeting.