Honorary Membership

About the Honorary Membership
Honorary membership may be conferred on a living citizen of any country whose contribution to librarianship or a closely related field is so outstanding that it is of lasting importance to the advancement of the whole field of library service. It is intended to reflect honor upon the ALA as well as upon the individual.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

2012 Recipient(s)

Jack Reed

U.S. Senator, (D-RI)

He was nominated for his continuing, unwavering and effective support of libraries in the U.S. Congress.

Throughout his career, Reed has supported education and libraries, statewide and nationally.  He sponsored every major piece of library legislation when he was a Rhode Island member of the U.S. House of Representatives (1990-1996) and as a U.S. Senator for the past 14 years. 

His official Senate page can been found at http://www.reed.senate.gov/


Betty J. Turock

professor and dean emeritus at Rutgers University

Dr. Turock was nominated in recognition of her outstanding commitment and achievement in the field of library and information science, as a practitioner, educator, advocate and philanthropist.  Her efforts have increased the emphasis of ALA and the field on diversity, innovation, leadership and access for all.

Her web page can be found at http://comminfo.rutgers.edu/directory/bturock/index.html#.UGxniZhuSGM