Honorary Membership

About the Honorary Membership
Honorary membership may be conferred on a living citizen of any country whose contribution to librarianship or a closely related field is so outstanding that it is of lasting importance to the advancement of the whole field of library service. It is intended to reflect honor upon the ALA as well as upon the individual.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

2007 Recipient(s)

Alphonse F. Trezza

Professor; ALA, NCLIS, IL State Library Director

Anita R. Schiller

Gender Equality Advocate

Alice L. Hagemeyer

Deaf Community Advocate

Barbara Gittings

Gay Rights Activist

David Cohen

Intellectual Freedom/Multicultural Librarianship Advocate