Honorary Membership

About the Honorary Membership
Honorary membership may be conferred on a living citizen of any country whose contribution to librarianship or a closely related field is so outstanding that it is of lasting importance to the advancement of the whole field of library service. It is intended to reflect honor upon the ALA as well as upon the individual.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

1954 Recipient(s)

Carl Hastings Milam

ALA Executive Secretary

Carleton B. Joeckel

Library Educator

Linda A. Eastman

Public Librarian, former ALA President

Charles Harvey Brown

University Librarian, former ALA President