Honorary Membership

About the Honorary Membership
Honorary membership may be conferred on a living citizen of any country whose contribution to librarianship or a closely related field is so outstanding that it is of lasting importance to the advancement of the whole field of library service. It is intended to reflect honor upon the ALA as well as upon the individual.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

1951 Recipient(s)

Louis Round Wilson

University Librarian

Robert MacDonald Lester

Carnegie Foundation Official

Helen E. Haines

Library Educator, former ALA President

William Warner Bishop

University Librarian, former ALA President