Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award

Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award
About the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award
This award honors the life and accomplishments of Hugh C. Atkinson by soliciting nominations and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of an academic librarian who has worked in the areas of library automation or library management and has made contributions (including risk taking) toward the improvement of library services or to library development or research.

Administered by:

Association for Library Collections and Technical Svcs logoAssociation of College and Research Libraries logoLibrary and Information Technology Association logoLibrary Leadership and Management Association logo

Award and Frequency

Cash award and a plaque. This award is funded by an endowment created by divisional, individual, and vendor contributions given in memory of Hugh C. Atkinson. The award is jointly sponsored by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS), the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA), and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA).
This award is given out on an annual basis.


The nominee must be a librarian employed in one of the following during the year prior to application for this award:

•           University, college, or community college library
•           Non-profit consortium, or a consortium comprised of non-profits that provides resources/services/support to  academic libraries

The nominee must have a minimum of five years of professional experience in an academic library or in a non-profit consortium or a consortium comprised of non-profits.


Application Instructions

Electronic submissions are required. Nominations must include documentation that indicates the name, address, and phone number of both the nominating party and the nominee as well as a narrative supporting the nomination, and a current vita. Nominators are encouraged to solicit additional letters that would help the committee understand the full scope of the nominee’s contributions.

If possible, please submit a high resolution photo of the nominee (at least 300 dpi). The photo will be used to make the official winner announcement immediately after the ALA Midwinter Meeting.

Please e-mail the nomination to Chase Ollis at If sending multiple files, each file name must include the nominee's name.

If you have questions, please contact the Chair of the Atkinson Award Committee, Mark Stover, E-mail: or Chase Ollis at

Contact Information

Chase Ollis
ACRL Program Officer
50 East Huron St.
Chicago, IL 60611

T: 312-280-2521
F: 312-280-2520

Chase Ollis (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019) -
American Library Association
50 E Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611-2788

Displaying active committee roster as of 08/15/2018. Last retrieved on 08/15/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

The nominee must have demonstrated achievement (including risk-taking) that has contributed significantly to improvements in the areas of library automation, library management, and/or library development or research.