Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe Award for New Talent

About the Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe Award for New Talent
The award is established to affirm new talent and to offer visibility to excellence in writing and/or illustration which otherwise might be formally unacknowledged within a given year within the structure of the two awards given annually by the Coretta Scott King Book Awards Committee.
These books affirm new talent and offer visibility to excellence in writing or illustration at the beginning of a career as a published book creator.

Administered by:

Ethnic and Multicultural  Information Exchange Rd Table logo
The Sun Is Also a StarThe Sun Is Also a Star2017 - Winner
Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights MovementVoice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement2016 - Winner
HoodooHoodoo2016 - Winner
When I Was the GreatestWhen I Was the Greatest2015 - Winner
When the Beat was Born: DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip HopWhen the Beat was Born2014 - Winner
2013 No awards given2013 - No Awards Given
2012 no winner given2012 - No Awards Given
Sadler, Sonia LynnSeeds of Change2011 - Winner
Johnson, Jen CullertonSeeds of Change2011 - Winner
Bond, VictoriaZora and Me2011 - Winner
Simon, T.R.Zora and Me2011 - Winner
Magoon, KeklaThe Rock and the River2010 - Winner
Strickland, ShadraBird2009 - Winner
Elliott, ZettaBird2009 - Winner
Frazier, Sundee T.Brendan Buckley's Universe and Everything in It2008 - Winner
Jones, Traci L.Standing Against the Wind2007 - Winner
Adoff, JaimeJimi & Me2006 - Winner
Hathaway, BarbaraMiss Violet and Me2005 - Winner
Roberts, Brenda C.Jazzy Miz Mozetta2005 - Winner
Morrison, FrankJazzy Miz Mozetta2005 - Winner
Evans, Shane W.The Way a Door Closes2004 - Winner
Smith, Hope AnitaThe Way a Door Closes2004 - Winner
Cox, JudyMy Family Plays Music2004 - Winner
Brown, ElbriteMy Family Plays Music2004 - Winner
DuBurke, RandyThe Moon Ring2003 - Winner
McDonald, JanetChill Wind2003 - Winner
Wiles, DeborahFreedom Summer2002 - Winner
Lagarrigue, JeromeFreedom Summer2002 - Winner
No awards given2001 - No Awards Given
No awards given2000 - No Awards Given
Velasquez, EricThe Piano Man1999 - Winner
Chocolate, DeborahThe Piano Man1999 - Winner
Flake, SharonThe Skin I'm In1999 - Winner
No awards given1998 - No Awards Given
Southgate, MarthaAnother Way to Dance1997 - Winner
No awards given1996 - No Awards Given
Draper, SharonTears of a Tiger1995 - Winner