MAE Award for the Best Literature Program for Teens

About the MAE Award for the Best Literature Program for Teens  This award honors a YALSA member for developing an outstanding reading or literature program for young adults.The MAE Award for Best Literature Program for Teens is sponsored by the Margaret A. Edwards Trust.Edwards was a well-known and innovative young adult services librarian at Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore, Md., for more than 30 years. Her trust has supported many initiatives from YALSA, including the Alex Awards for adult books with teen appeal and all five rounds of the Excellence in Library Service to Young Adults project. 

Administered by:

Young Adult Library Services Association logo

Award and Frequency

Winners receive $500 and an additional $500 for their libraries

This award is given out on an annual basis.

Application Instructions


  1. All entries must include the application form (PDF) provided by the Young Adult Library Services Association.
  2. All applicants must be current personal members of ALA/YALSA at the time the application is submitted. 
  3. Entries should be models of clarity and completeness.
  4. The application must be e-mailed to Nichole Gilbert at Questions can be directed to Nichole at 1.800.545.2433 x 4387. Applications must be sent electronically. 
  5. Applications must be received no later than December 1 of the current year.


Contact Information

Letitia Smith (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015) -
Work Phone: 312-280-4390
50 E Huron St
Chicago, IL 60611-2729

Displaying active committee roster as of 10/25/2014. Last retrieved on 10/25/2014. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria


  • The purpose of the reading or literature program must be to bring young adults and books together and to encourage the development of life-long reading habits.
  • The program must be specifically designed for and targeted at reaching young adults.
  • All or part of the program must have taken place in the twelve months preceding the award deadline date of December 1.
  • The applicant must work directly with young adults and be a personal member of the Young Adult Library Services Association.
  • Nonwinning entries may be resubmitted in subsequent years if the program is current and ongoing and if a new application that updates the documentation is submitted.