William C. Morris Debut YA Award

About the William C. Morris Debut YA Award
The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first awarded in 2009, honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

The award's namesake is William C. Morris, an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults. Bill Morris left an impressive mark on the field of children’s and young adult literature. He was beloved in the publishing field and the library profession for his generosity and marvelous enthusiasm for promoting literature for children and teens.

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award celebrates the achievement of a previously unpublished author, or authors, who have made a strong literary debut in writing for young adult readers. The work cited will illuminate the teen experience and enrich the lives of its readers through its excellence, demonstrated by:

  • Compelling, high quality writing and/or illustration
  • The integrity of the work as a whole
  • Its proven or potential appeal to a wide range of teen readers

Administered by:

Young Adult Library Services Association logo
Tell Me Something RealTell Me Something Real2017 - Finalist
The Smell of Other People’s HousesThe Smell of Other People’s Houses2017 - Finalist
Rani Patel in Full EffectRani Patel in Full Effect2017 - Finalist
Girl Mans UpGirl Mans Up2017 - Finalist
The Serpent KingThe Serpent King2017 - Winner
Leah Thomas2016 -
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens AgendaBecky Albertalli2016 - Winner
Because You’ll Never Meet MeLeah Thomas2016 - Finalist
Conviction Kelly Loy Gilbert2016 - Finalist
The Sacred Lies of Minnow BlyStephanie Oakes2016 - Finalist
The Weight of FeathersAnna-Marie McLemore2016 - Finalist
The Miseducation of Cameron PostThe Miseducation of Cameron Post2013 - Finalist
After the SnowAfter the Snow2013 - Finalist
Love and Other Perishable ItemsLove and Other Perishable Items2013 - Finalist
Wonder ShowWonder Show2013 - Finalist
SeraphinaSeraphina2013 - Winner
McCall, Guadalupe GarciaUnder the Mesquite2012 - Finalist
Sepetys, RutaBetween Shades of Gray2012 - Finalist
Hubbard, JennyPaper Covers Rock2012 - Finalist
Whaley, John CoreyWhere Things Come Back2012 - Winner
Carson, RaeGirl of Fire and Thorns2012 - Finalist
Woolston, BlytheThe Freak Observer2011 - Winner
Stuber, BarbaraCrossing the Tracks2011 - Finalist
McBride, LishHold Me Closer, Necromancer2011 - Finalist
Healey, KarenGuardian of the Dead2011 - Finalist
Chayil, EishesHush2011 - Finalist
LaCour, Ninahold still2010 - Finalist
Madigan, L. K.Flash Burnout2010 - Winner
Huntley, AmyThe Everafter2010 - Finalist
Garcia, KamiBeautiful Creatures2010 - Finalist
Stohl, MargaretBeautiful Creatures2010 - Finalist
Lo, MalindaAsh2010 - Finalist
Lecesne, JamesAbsolute Brightness2009 - Finalist
Cashore, KristinGraceling2009 - Finalist
Meldrum, ChristinaMadapple2009 - Finalist
Valentine, JennyMe, The Missing, and the Dead2009 - Finalist
Bunce, Elizabeth C.A Curse Dark As Gold 2009 - Winner