Donald G. Davis Article Award

About the Donald G. Davis Article Award
The Donald G. Davis Article Award is presented by the Library History Round Table of the American Library Association every second year to recognize the best article written in English in the field of United States and Canadian library history including the history of libraries, librarianship, and book culture.

Administered by:

Library History Round Table logo

Award and Frequency

This award is given out on a biennial basis.


Entries for each biennial award must have been published between January 1 and December 31 of the two years preceding the award year. Papers that have won the Justin Winsor or Jesse Shera Awards are not eligible for consideration.

Application Instructions

Any member of the Library History Round Table may nominate one or more articles by sending a recommendation to the Chair of the Davis Award Committee, Andy Huse,, or to the ALA Office of Research and Statistics:   

Subject line must read: Davis Article Award.  Nominations should be sent by January 22, 2016, to Chair, Davis Award Committee.

Subject line must read: Davis Article Award

If submission by email is not possible, nominations should be sent to:

Davis Article Award Committee
Office of Research and Statistics
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611

Fax: (312) 280-4392

Contact Information

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/22/2018. Last retrieved on 07/22/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

Entries are judged on quality of scholarship, clarity of style, depth of research, and ability to place research findings in a broad social, cultural, and political context. One award will be given every second year unless the jury does not find a suitable candidate for that biennial period.


The winner will be announced in a press release on or about June 1st of the award year. Certificates honoring the author(s) and journal will be presented at a Library History Round Table awards ceremony during the American Library Association Annual Conference in the year of the award.