Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award

About the Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award
The award encourages library users to recognize the accomplishments of librarians for their efforts to improve the lives of people in their community.

Administered by:

Public Awareness Office logo

Award and Frequency

Up to ten winners will be selected to receive a $5,000 cash award, a plaque and $500 travel stipend to attend and awards reception in New York City. A plaque will also be given to each award winner's library.
This award is given out on an annual basis.


Each nominee must be a librarian with a master’s degree from a program accredited by the ALA in library and information studies or a master’s degree with a specialty in school library media from an educational unit accredited by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education.  Nominees must be currently working in the United States in a public library, a library at an accredited two- or four-year college or university or at an accredited K-12 school.

Application Instructions

 Nominations will be accepted online at No paper nominations will be accepted.

Contact Information

Megan Humphrey
Campaign Manager
Public Information Office (PIO)
1-800-545-2433 ext.4020

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/15/2018. Last retrieved on 07/15/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

  •  The extent to which the nominee has helped make the experience of a library a positive one for the nominator(s);
  •   How the nominee makes the library or community a better place;
  •   How the nominee has improved the lives of his/her users (public librarians) or had an impact on the learning process (school and college, community college, university  librarians);
  •   How the nominee makes the library a better place (public librarians) or demonstrates leadership in the school or campus community (school and college, community college, university librarians).


 Winners will be notified in November 2010. Winners will be honored at a reception in New York in December 2010, hosted by The New York Times.  A listing of the winners will also be posted at