Emerald Research Grant Awards

About the Emerald Research Grant Awards This grant is awarded to individuals seeking support to conduct research in business librarianship.

Administered by:

Reference and User Services Association logoBusiness Reference and Services Section logo

Award and Frequency

One $5,000 award and citation will be presented.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented. Questions about these awards should be directed to the committee chairperson or to Leighann Wood, RUSA awards program coordinator, at lwood@ala.org.

This award is given out on an annual basis.


Award recipient must be an ALA member or at least one member of a collaborative team must be an ALA member.

Proposals will be accepted from both individual researchers and those working collaboratively. At least one member of a collaborative team must be a member of ALA.

Applicant Responsibility

Recipients may be asked to present their findings at a public BRASS event within two years of receiving the award (at the discretion of the BRASS Executive Committee). Recipients will also be required to acknowledge the Emerald Research Grant when publishing or presenting their research.

Application Instructions

Questions and research proposals should be sent to the committee chair.

Contact Information

Kelly S. Janousek (Chair, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)

Displaying active committee roster as of 08/23/2017. Last retrieved on 08/23/2017. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

Candidates must submit a detailed proposal outlining their proposed research project; methodology, scope and timetable; how this project fits into the existing literature; and projected outcomes, including a statement outlining how this research will benefit the library profession.


The awards (check and citation) will be presented at the RUSA Awards Ceremony at the annual conferences each year. Recipients will be required to attend the RUSA Awards Ceremony.