Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

About the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, established in 2004, is given annually (beginning in 2006) to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

2010 Winner(s)

Benny and Penny in the Big No-No!

written and illustrated by Geoffrey Hayes, and published by TOON BOOKS, a division of RAW Junior, LLC

 Geoffrey Hayes, creator of over forty books for children presents beginning readers with an exciting new tale. Siblings Benny and Penny encounter trouble when curiosity about a mysterious neighbor leads them into unexpected adventures.

Benny and Penny is a perfect example of a graphic novel designed just for young readers. The characters' emotions are revealed in the rich artwork within each panel. Children will connect with the realistic dialogue and page-turning appeal of the story. They will be thrilled to enter the world of graphic novels.

2010 Honor(s)

Mouse and Mole: Fine Feathered Friends

written and illustrated by Wong Herbert Yee, and published by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

I Spy Fly Guy!

written and illustrated by Tedd Arnold, and published by Scolastic.

Little Mouse Gets Ready

written and illustrated by Jeff Smith, and published by TOON BOOKS, a division of RAW Junior, LLC

Pearl and Wagner: One Funny Day

written by Kate McMullan, illustrated by R.W. Alley, published by Dial Books for Young Readers, a division of Penguin Young Readers