Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

About the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, established in 2004, is given annually (beginning in 2006) to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

2007 Winner(s)

Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways

By Laura McGee Kvasnosky (Candlewick)

The popular fox sisters return in this book with three adventures precipitated by their need to avoid the dreaded cucumber sandwiches dad is preparing.  Strong character development and a superb book design that showcases framed gouache paintings combine to encourage young readers to reach the trio of hilarious outcomes.

2007 Honor(s)

Mercy Watson Goes for a Ride

Written by Kate DiCamillo and illustrated by Chris Van Dusen (Candlewick)

Mr. Watson's pig, the "porcine wonder" finally gets behind the wheel of a 1959 pink convertible.  Van Dusen's gouache illustrations add a retro appearance to DiCamillo's superb dialogue-filled, 14-chapter story.

Move Over, Rover!

Written by Karen Beaumont and illustrated by Jane Dyer (Harcourt)

Beaumont's patterned cumulative text is expanded by Dyer's watercolors containing context clues to tell the story of creatures from Squirrel to Skunk seeking shelter by squeezing into Rover's doghouse.

Not a Box

By Antoinette Portis (HarperCollins)

Spare line drawings and minimal text show a personified bunny playing with, in and on a cardboard box.  Beginning readers delight in discovering the rabbit's unlimited imaginative play in this square brown book.