Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

About the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, established in 2004, is given annually (beginning in 2006) to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

2015 Winner(s)

You Are (Not) Small

Written by Anna Kang and illustrated by Christopher Weyant, is the Geisel Award winner. The book is published by Two Lions, New York

In “You Are (Not) Small,” a heated debate quickly ensues when two furry creatures can’t agree on who is big and who is small. As more creatures take sides, the situation escalates until new arrivals put everything into perspective with a BOOM! Everyone soon reaches an understanding that size is relative, and walk away realizing that they have more in common than they thought.

2015 Honor(s)

Mr. Putter and Tabby Turn the Page

Written by Cynthia Rylant, illustrated by Arthur Howard and published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company

Mr. Putter and his cat Tabby are excited to participate in a library read-aloud program, but they are nervous when Mrs. Teaberry and her unpredictable dog Zeke want to join. Despite Zeke’s antics, their fears are unfounded when they discover that the event is a success for all involved.

Waiting Is Not Easy!

Written and illustrated by Mo Willems and published by Hyperion Books for Children, an imprint of Disney Book Group
Piggie has a big surprise for Gerald, but does he have the patience to wait? As the day wears on, Piggie remains calm while Gerald experiences a roller coaster of emotions, anticipating his reward. As night falls, their patience pays off with a breathtaking conclusion.