Louise Seaman Bechtel Fellowship

About the Louise Seaman Bechtel Fellowship
The Louise Seaman Bechtel Fellowship is designed to allow qualified children's librarians to spend a month or more reading and studying at the Baldwin Library of the George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville. The Baldwin Library contains a special collection of 85,000 volumes of children's literature published mostly before 1950.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

Award and Frequency

Awardess are given $4,000 to support their study and are recognized at the membership meeting during ALA Annual Conference.

This award is given out on an annual basis.


Candidates must have the following qualifications to be considered:
• Be personal members of ALSC as well as ALA; organizational members are not eligible
• Be currently working in direct service to children, or retired members who complete their careers in direct service to children, for a minimum of eight years
• Have a graduate degree from an ALA-accredited program
• Be willing to write a report about his/her study; the report will be submitted to the ALSC Office, for distribution to the Bechtel Committee and for possible inclusion in Children and Libraries, and to the Director of the Smathers Libraries and the Director of the Center for the Study of Children’s Literature and Media at the University of Florida
• If selected, retired Fellowship winners would agree to present a minimum of three public programs based on their research project to children in libraries or schools following the completion of their Fellowship period

Application Instructions

Please fill out the online application located on the ALSC website.

Contact Information

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/15/2019. Last retrieved on 07/15/2019. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

A description of the topic of study for the fellowship period.  Demonstration of ongoing commitment to motivating children to read.


Winner will be annuonced via a press release on the ALSC Web site after ALA Midwinter Meeting in early January.