Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award

About the The HARRASSOWITZ Award for Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award
This award is given to recognize the contributions by and outstanding leadership of an individual to the field of acquisitions librarianship. This recognition is made for individual achievement of a high order in this area.

Administered by:

Association for Library Collections and Technical Svcs logoAcquisitions Section logo

2013 Winner(s)

Rick Anderson

interim dean and university librarian at the University Utah’s Marriott Library

For a decade or more Anderson has regularly addressed librarians on acquisitions and other matters through articles and reviews, an Against the Grain column, presentations delivered throughout the United States and abroad, his book "Buying and Contracting for Resources and Service: A How-to-Do-It Manual for Librarians" (Neal-Schuman, 2004), and through listservs and blogs such as Liblicense and The Scholarly Kitchen.  From these various platforms and others, Anderson has established a thoughtful, irreverent, pragmatic and very personal voice that is recognized and valued not only by those concerned with the acquisitions of serials, monographs and digital content, but by librarians throughout the wider profession.

Anderson’s service to the profession includes a year as president of the North American Serials Interest Group (NASIG), ALCTS committee work and membership on many editorial and advisory boards.  In 2005 Anderson was named a Library Journal “Mover & Shaker,” and in 2009 was selected as an ARL Research Library Leadership Fellow.        

Before his 2012 promotion to interim dean and university librarian at the University of Utah, from 2007 he was associate dean for scholarly resources and collections at the library.  Prior to that, he had held library positions at the University of Nevada, Reno and the University of North Carolina, Greensboro.  Anderson holds am MLIS degree from Brigham Young University.