Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award

About the The HARRASSOWITZ Award for Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award
This award is given to recognize the contributions by and outstanding leadership of an individual to the field of acquisitions librarianship. This recognition is made for individual achievement of a high order in this area.

Administered by:

Association for Library Collections and Technical Svcs logoAcquisitions Section logo

Award and Frequency

An annual award of $1,500 and a citation.
This award is given out on an annual basis.


Any ALCTS member who meets the requirements is eligible.

Application Instructions

 Nominations should be sent to the chair of the jury and should include:

  • Relevant biographical information, e.g., name, address, positions(s) held, place of employment, phone numbers, educational background;
  • Statement of work and/or professional experience, professional activities, honors, and any other factors relevant to the nominee; and
  • Two letters of reference, sent directly to the chair from the author, not via the nominee. The award may be divided among two or more individuals who have participated jointly in the achievement for which it is granted.¬†

Contact Information

Michael A. Arthur (Chair, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Ms. Shirleanne Ackerman Gahan (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Ms. Moon Joo Cindy Kim (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Ms. Cheryl Aine Morrison (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Ginger (V. K.) Williams (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Keri Cascio (Staff Liaison, January 15, 2015, to June 30, 2018) - kcascio@ala.org
American Library Association
50 E Huron St
Chicago, IL 60611-2788

Displaying active committee roster as of 03/22/2018. Last retrieved on 03/22/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

Nominees must have demonstrated leadership related to acquisitions librarianship, which has contributed significantly to improvements in the field.
Nominees must have demonstrated achievement in the field of acquisitions as evidenced by one or more of the following:
  • contributions to professional associations;
  • contributions to the literature including research;
  • contributions to the education of acquisitions professionals; and
  • contributions to the advancement of the profession.
Two letters of reference.
Employees of the Harrassowitz Company are not eligible to receive the award.


The award jury chair will notify the recipient just prior to the ALA Midwinter Meeting.