ASCLA Leadership & Professional Achievement Award

In 2008, the ASCLA Leadership and the ASCLA Professional Achievement Awards were combined into one award - the ASCLA Leadership & Professional Achievement Award. The first combined ASCLA Leadership & Professional Achievement Award was presented in 2009. This prestigious award is presented to one or more ASCLA members (personal or organizational) exemplifying leadership and achievement in one or more of the following areas: consulting, library cooperation, networking, statewide services and programs and state library development.

The nomination form is available in both PDF and Word document formats. The deadline for 2017 award nominations is February 10, 2017.

Download the PDF nomination form.

Download the Word nomination form.


2016 Cal Shepard, State Librarian, State Library of North Carolina
2015 Cheryl O O'Conner, Coordinator of Statewide Library Service, New Jersey State Library
2014 No award recipient
2013 No award recipient
2012 Laura Sherbo, branch library services program manager, Washington State Library
2011 Diane Walden, correctional libraries senior consultant for the Colorado State Library
(view video)
2008 Connie Paul, executive director, Central Jersey Regional Library Cooperative, Freehold, NJ
Plinkit Collaborative (State Library of Colorado; State Library of Oregon; State Library of Texas, Regional Illinois Library)
2007 Lee A. Logan, director of Consulting and Continuing Education, and Kitty Pope, executive director of the Alliance Library System, in East Peoria, IL
Thomas J. Sanville, executive director, OhioLINK, Columbus, OH
2006 Keith Curry Lance, director, Library Research Services, Colorado State Library; affiliated professor, Library and Information Science Program, University of Denver; and independent consultant
Tom W. Sloan, executive director, Southeast Florida Information Network (SEFLIN)
2005 The Library Development Bureau of the New Jersey State Library, Trenton, NJ
2004 Valerie Wilford, consultant, former executive director of the Alliance Library System, Pekin, IL
Amy Owens, former state librarian of Utah
2003 Karen Hyman, executive director, South Jersey Regional Library Cooperative, Gibbsboro, NJ
Barratt Wilkins, state librarian emeritus of the Florida State Library
2002 Stephen Prine, head of network services, National Library Services for the blind and Physically Handicapped, Library of Congress
2001 Charles "Ray" Ewick, director of the Indiana State Library
1999 Jan Beck Ison , executive director, Lincoln Trail Libraries System
Bridget L. Lamont, director of Policy Development, Illinois Governor's Office