ASCLA Exceptional Service Award

A citation presented to recognize exceptional service to patients, to the homebound, to people of all ages who live in group homes or residences, and to inmates, as well as to recognize professional leadership, effective interpretation of programs, pioneering activity, and significant research or experimental projects.

The nomination form is available in both PDF and Word document formats. The deadline for 2017 award nominations is February 10, 2017.

Download the PDF nomination form.

Download the Word nomination form.


2016   Marshes of Glynn Libraries

2015   Mary Morgan, librarian to the Kentucky Department of Corrections Luther Luckett Correctional Facility

2014   Mary Beth Riedner, volunteer at the Gail Borden Public Library District

2013   Dr. Betsy Diamant-Cohen

2012   Kathleen Hegarty, Boston Public Library (retired)

2011   Hennepin County (Minn.) Library Outreach Services ( view video)

2010   Barbara T. Mates

2007   Diana Reese, institutional library services coordinator, Colorado State Library, Salida

2006   The Johnson County Library, Outreach Services Department (Kansas)

2005   The Queens Library (NY)

2004   The Miami-Dade Public Library System

2002   Michael Gunde, bureau chief, Florida Department of Education, Division of Blind Services, Bureau of Braille and Talking Book Library Services

2001   Linda Lucas Walling, professor with the College of Library and Information Science, University of South Carolina

1999   Rangashri Kishore, librarian at the UNICEF in New Delhi