ALA Century Scholarship

About the Scholarship

An annual scholarship of $2,500 that funds services or accommodation for a library school student(s) with disabilities admitted to an ALA-accredited library school. The scholarship will fund services or accommodations that are either not provided by law or otherwise by the university that will enable the student or students to successfully complete the course of study for a Master’s in Library Science and become a library or information studies professional. Formerly administered by ASCLA. The Century Scholarship is currently being administered by the ALA HRDR office.

How to Apply

More information about this and other ALA scholarships is available at
You can access the online application and apply for this scholarship at this page, too. The application period opens in October of each year and closes on March 1. Questions about the application process should be directed to the ALA Scholarship Clearinghouse, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL, 60611, at or 1-800-545-2433 ext. 4279.

Century Scholarship applicants must provide medical documentation of their disability or disabilities, services, or accommodations and/or services the applicant would need for their studies, demonstrate the need for financial assistance and be citizens of the United States or Canada. Documentation should identify the applicant's disability and how it affects his or her ability to complete a course of study. Any additional supporting documents are welcome. Documentation is only used to determine eligibility for the scholarship, and will remain confidential.

All documentation must be received by the ALA Scholarship Clearinghouse by March 1 and should be sent to ALA Scholarship Clearinghouse, ATTN: ALA Century Scholarship, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611.

Support the Scholarship

The initial funding for the scholarship was made by an anonymous donor. Since its inception in 2000, numerous other donors have provided funding. Donations to the Century Scholarship may be sent to 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611, ATTN: ALA Scholarship Clearinghouse.

You can also contribute online by clicking on "giveALA" at the top right of the page.

ASCLA Century Scholarship Recipients

2015 No award presented
2014 No award presented
2013 No award presented
2012 Anthony Trocchia, Queens College
2011 Samantha Wickman
2009 Amy Lynn Sonnie, San Jose State University
2008 Lela Ellison, University of Texas, Austin
2007 Cynthia Nugent, University of Southern Mississippi
2006 Avery Deane Olmstead IV, University of South Carolina, Columbia
2005 Ivan Murillo
2004 Jeffrey Thompson, University of California at Los Angeles
2003 Sara Lynn Hyder, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
2002 Christine Anne Baynes, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
2001 Simon Healey, University of Pittsburgh
2000 Rebecca Van Scyoc, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign