ASCLA Awards & Scholarships

The ASCLA awards and scholarships program recognizes outstanding achievement by members of the library profession. These awards honor librarians and libraries for significant current or past achievements such as publications, program development, and leadership in the profession. Awards may include a citation and a cash award, and may be made to individuals or groups. Depending on the terms of the award, recipients need not necessarily be members of ASCLA. All ASCLA awards must conform to the guidelines contained in the Awards Manual of the American Library Association.

The deadline for submissions for the 2017 awards is February 10, 2017.

Click on the award names below to access more information about each award and a link to the nomination requirements, nomination form and submission instructions. Questions? Contact ASCLA Executive Director Susan Hornung at or (312) 280-4395. We look forward to receiving your submission!

Current Awards & Scholarships

ASCLA/Keystone Library Automation System (KLAS)
National Organization on Disability (NOD) Award

A $1,000 award and certificate for a library organization that has provided services for people with disabilities. The award recognizes an innovative and well-organized project which successfully developed or expanded services for people with disabilities. The award can be for a specific service(s) program or for a library that has made their total services more accessible through changing physical and/or attitudinal barriers.

Francis Joseph Campbell Award

A citation and a medal presented to a person or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for the blind and physically handicapped. This contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; a recognized contribution to the national library program for blind persons; creative participation in library associations or organizations that advance reading for the blind; a significant publication or writing in the field; imaginative contribution to library administration, reference, circulation, selection, acquisitions, or technical services; or any activity of recognized importance.

ASCLA Exceptional Service Award

A citation presented to recognize exceptional service to patients, to the homebound, to people of all ages who live in group homes or residences, and to inmates, as well as to recognize professional leadership, effective interpretation of programs, pioneering activity, and significant research of experimental projects.

ASCLA Leadership & Professional Achievement Award

This prestigious award is presented to one or more ASCLA members (personal or organizational) exemplifying leadership and achievement in one or more of the following areas: consulting, library cooperation, networking, statewide services and programs and state library development.

Cathleen Bourdon Service Award

This citation is presented to an ASCLA personal member for outstanding service and leadership to the division. The award recognizes sustained leadership and exceptional service through participation in activities which have enhanced the stature, reputation, and overall strength of ASCLA; and representation of ASCLA to other appropriate organizations, institutions, or governmental agencies.

Century Scholarship

An annual scholarship of up to $2,500 that funds services or accommodation for a library school student(s) with disabilities admitted to an ALA-accredited library school. The scholarship will fund services or accommodations that are either not provided by law or otherwise by the university that will enable the student or students to successfully complete the course of study for a Master’s or Doctorate in Library Science and become a library or information studies professional.