Francis Joseph Campbell Award

A citation and a medal presented to a person or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for the blind and physically handicapped. This contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; a recognized contribution to the national library program for blind persons; creative participation in library associations or organizations that advance reading for the blind; a significant publication or writing in the field; imaginative contribution to library administration, reference, circulation, selection, acquisitions, or technical services; or any activity of recognized importance. Visit the website for the Royal National College for the Blind to read more about Francis Joseph Campbell, for whom this award is named.

The nomination form is available in both PDF and Word document formats. The deadline for 2015 award nominations is February 8, 2015.

Download the PDF nomination form.

Download the Word nomination form.

2013   Jill Lewis, former director, Maryland State Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped

2012   Carole Rose, Indiana Talking Book and Braille Library (retired)

2011   Jamal Mazrui, deputy director, Accessibility and Innovation Initiative, Federal Communications Commission ( view video)

2010   Daniel W. Boyd, former director of the South Dakota Braille and Talking Book Library

2009   Department of Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood

2007   Sue O. Murdock, former manager of the Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, Penn.

2006   Axel Schmetzke, Ph.D., professor, reference librarian, coordinator of instruction, and head of the Instructional Materials Center, University Library, University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point

2005   Judith M. Dixon, consumer relations officer, and Wells B. Kormann, chief, Materials Development Division, of the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS), Library of Congress

2004   The Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB) Library, Toronto

2003   James R. Fruchterman, president, The Benetech Initiative, Palo Alto, CA

2002   Julie Klauber, librarian, Talking Books Plus, Outreach Services, Suffolk Cooperative Library System, Bellport, NY

2001   Barbara Mates, head of the Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped at the Cleveland Public Library

2000   Dr. Norman R. Coombs, adjunct professor, St. John Fisher College (Rochester)

1999   Donald John Weber, chief of the Florida Bureau of Braille and Talking Book Library Services, Division of Blind Services