ASCLA Leadership & Professional Achievement Award

In 2008, the ASCLA Leadership and the ASCLA Professional Achievement Awards were combined into one award - the ASCLA Leadership & Professional Achievement Award. The first combined ASCLA Leadership & Professional Achievement Award was presented in 2009. This prestigious award is presented to one or more ASCLA members (personal or organizational) exemplifying leadership and achievement in one or more of the following areas: consulting, library cooperation, networking, statewide services and programs and state library development.

The nomination form is available in both PDF and Word document formats. The deadline for 2016 award nominations is March 1, 2016.

Download the PDF nomination form.

Download the Word nomination form.


2015  ASCLA Leadership & Professional Achievement Award
         Cheryl O O’Conner, Coordinator of Statewide Library Service, New York State Library 

2014  No award recipient

2013 No award recipient

2012 ASCLA Leadership & Professional Achievement Award
Laura Sherbo, branch library services program manager, Washington State Library
2011 ASCLA Leadership & Professional Achievement Award
Diane Walden, correctional libraries senior consultant for the Colorado State Library
(view video)
2008 ASCLA Leadership Achievement Award
Connie Paul, executive director, Central Jersey Regional Library Cooperative, Freehold, NJ
ASCLA Professional Achievement Award
Plinkit Collaborative (State Library of Colorado; State Library of Oregon; State Library of Texas, Regional Illinois Library)
2007 ASCLA Leadership Achievement Award
Lee A. Logan, director of Consulting and Continuing Education, and Kitty Pope, executive director of the Alliance Library System, in East Peoria, IL
ASCLA Professional Achievement Award
Thomas J. Sanville, executive director, OhioLINK, Columbus, OH
2006 ASCLA Leadership Achievement Award
Keith Curry Lance, director, Library Research Services, Colorado State Library; affiliated professor, Library and Information Science Program, University of Denver; and independent consultant
ASCLA Professional Achievement Award
Tom W. Sloan, executive director, Southeast Florida Information Network (SEFLIN)
2005 ASCLA Leadership Achievement Award
The Library Development Bureau of the New Jersey State Library, Trenton, NJ
2004 ASCLA Leadership Achievement Award
Valerie Wilford, consultant, former executive director of the Alliance Library System, Pekin, IL
ASCLA Professional Achievement Award
Amy Owens, former state librarian of Utah
2003 ASCLA Leadership Achievement Award
Karen Hyman, executive director, South Jersey Regional Library Cooperative, Gibbsboro, NJ
ASCLA Professional Achievement Award
Barratt Wilkins, state librarian emeritus of the Florida State Library
2002 ASCLA Leadership Achievement Award
Stephen Prine, head of network services, National Library Services for the blind and Physically Handicapped, Library of Congress
2001 ASCLA Leadership Achievement Award
Charles "Ray" Ewick, director of the Indiana State Library
1999 ASCLA Leadership Achievement Award
Jan Beck Ison , executive director, Lincoln Trail Libraries System
ASCLA Professional Achievement Award
Bridget L. Lamont, director of Policy Development, Illinois Governor's Office