Student Gift Membership Task Force


To explore the possibility of, and make recommendations regarding a pilot program that would offer the gift of ALA/ALSC memberships to children’s services-focused students graduating from ALA-accredited graduate schools of library and information science (GSLIS) with the objective of encouraging and supporting new professionals in their ALSC membership and engagement.


Ms. Andrea Vaughn Johnson (Chair, December 17, 2015, to July 31, 2019)
Diane Bailey Foote (Member, October 13, 2015, to July 31, 2016)
Mr. Patrick J. Gall (Member, November 29, 2015, to July 31, 2019)
Ms. Lauren Magielnicki (Member, November 24, 2015, to July 31, 2019)
Mr. Ted McCoy (Member, October 13, 2015, to October 15, 2017)
Kenneth Roman (Member, December 5, 2015, to July 31, 2019)
Julie Dietzel-Glair (Consultant, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2016. Last retrieved on 07/16/2019. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Student Gift Membership Task Force consists of five (5) virtual members, including the chair, Board liaison, and Membership Committee representative.

Get Involved

ALSC and ALA value committed and active committee members. Qualified ALSC members are welcome to volunteer to serve on ALSC's committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other ALSC committees by filling out an ALSC committee volunteer form. Depending on the committee, appointments take place either in the spring or fall. Accordingly, committee service begins either following Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

Staff Liaison

Dan Bostrom