Seeing the World through a Different Lens: International Films for Youth

Webinar participants will learn to identify sources to locate, review and access international films for youth. We will discuss specific films that depict themes including: socio-economic conflicts, gender identity, cultural heritage, family relationships, “fitting in” and “growing up.” Participants who are interested in continuing this discussion after the webinar are welcome to join a network of individuals on a publicly accessible resource on films from Indiana University.

Learning Outcomes

Upon completion of this webinar, participants will be able to:

  • Identify three or more international children’s film festivals
  • List two or more sources of reviews of international films for youth
  • Describe five different international films for youth
  • If interested, continue in an online public discussion of specific films

Who Should Attend

This webinar is relevant to any individual interested in gaining knowledge about how to locate and assess international films for youth for the purposes of purchasing for library collections or using for programs.

Course Level & Prerequisites

This webinar is open to library staff of all experience levels; no prerequisites are required.

Instructor(s)

Frances Weinstein Yates earned a BA in Education from Purdue University and Masters and Specialist degrees from Indiana University. Her professional focus has been children’s literature and media. For the past 30 years Frances has worked in school, public and college libraries. She has taught children’s literature since 1999, including special topics workshops focusing on cultural identities. Frances currently is Director of the Indiana University East Campus Library. She is a 2012 recipient of an ALA Carnegie Whitney grant to develop a resource guide for International Films for Youth.

Date(s) & Time(s)

This webinar is 60 minutes long; the information below indicates the start time.  Please plan on signing into the virtual classroom 10 - 15 minutes early.  The same information is being presented four times to allow for more participants; only plan on attending one date/time.

Tuesday, January 15, 2013; 1 pm Eastern, Noon Central, 11 am Mountain, 10 am Pacific
Thursday, February 21, 2013; Noon Eastern, 11 am Central, 10 am Mountain, 9 am Pacific
Thursday, March 14, 2013; 5 pm Eastern, 4 pm Central, 3 pm Mountain, 2 pm Pacific
Tuesday, April 23, 2013; 6 pm Eastern, 5 pm Central, 4 pm Mountain, 3 pm Pacific

Credits &/or CEUs Heading

College credit nor CEU's are available at this time. An electronic certificate of completion can be sent to participants upon request.

Fee

Webinar is limited to 95 students.

ALSC Personal Members and Students: $45
Non-Members: $55
Groups*: $195

*Groups are defined as any number of people watching the webinar together.  Each group registration will only receive one user login; one person in the group must register and login during the event.  Groups are encouraged to project the webinar for participants watching from the same location.

Technical Requirements

To take part you must have a computer, high-speed Internet access, web browser, and a copy of Flash® Player 8 or higher.  You can download a free copy of Flash® Player from the Adobe website if you do not already have it.

You are encouraged to test your connection prior to registering for a webinar.  If your internet connection is not high speed you may have problems inside the virtual meeting room.

For more information, view a video about Abode Connect meetings produced by Adobe.

How to Register

Registration is now open!  Visit the ALA Registration page to register online, or fill out the registration form and mail it in.  You can also register by calling ALA Member and Customer Service at 800-545-2433 ext. 5.  Webinar space is limited.  Archived version can not be purchased until all live sessions have taken place.

Contact

Jenny Najduch
ALSC Program Officer
jnajduch@ala.org
(800) 545-2433 ext. 4026

Sponsor

If interested in sponsoring this webinar please contact Jenny Najduch, ALSC program officer, with the above information.